Do What You Want

It seems like my whole life I’ve been playing the role that someone else has given me. I’ve found myself doing what is expected of me and what other people wanted me to do, but never really what I wanted to do. I’m gonna start by saying that I love every opportunity that has come to me and that I wouldn’t be the person I am without those people pushing me.

But now is the time to think about what I want. Image

I’ve let people lead me to where I am for 21 years. They’ve gotten me to this point, but there comes a point in everyone’s life where they must stand on their own and do what they feel is best for them. I’m at that point in my life. In a couple of weeks, I will have decided where I’m going to grad school or if I’m going to take a year off. Some people in my life are telling me to stay at UT for various reasons. Others are telling me to go to WIU if I get the chance so that I can experience something new. Many of them are opposed of me taking a year off should that become an option. With all of these voices in my ear, it’s hard to figure out exactly what I want. These people have played a significant role in my development as a person, student and future student affairs professional. I don’t want to disappoint any of them.

But it’s time for me to be selfish.

I’m known to be an unselfish person. However, all of these people are being slightly selfish. The reasons they want me to do certain things is because of how my staying or leaving will benefit them. But I have to be selfish with this choice. It’s about me and my future. I have to live with the decision that is made. I am gonna do what I feel is best for me. If I fall, I fall. If I succeed, I’ll succeed. This is my time. I can’t let others control my life anymore. It’s time I officially become an adult. Grad school will be the first time I’m actually on my own and every decision I make from this point on will affect me and myself alone. Let’s go.

Do what you want. Don’t let others make your decisions for you because you’ll end up losing yourself. There comes a point where you have to take control of your life and be all that you want to be. It’s ok to be selfish sometimes. You have to life your life for you, not to please others. Be brave. Be bold. Take risks. If you fall, get up and try again. Success will be so much better when you achieve your dream not the ones others have for you. Be You! Do What You Want!

 

Leave a Reply

