Becoming an Adult

It’s been a while since my last post. So much has happened. So much is going through my head.

At the time of my last post, I was feeling lost. I didn’t feel like I had a place. Now I have some clarity.

I love my job as an orientation advisor. It’s been an amazing experience thus far. My coworkers are amazing and I’ve had a blast getting to know each and everyone of them better. The shows Dear Friend and Longhorns Beyond The Surface have been extremely well received and I’m so thankful that I have the pleasure of being a part of them. Every orientation session, orientees come up to me and tell me how great I was in Dear Friend despite me being in only two scenes; they love my dancing. At #ClubTurnUp, they are always excited to see me having fun and grooving to the music.  Longhorns Beyond The Surface is still my favorite show though. It was my favorite show during my orientation 4 years ago and the facilitation that follows is amazing. We’ve had some inspiring things shared during it every session from students coming out to them sharing some of the darkest moments of their lives. Like the last line of the show says, “We are All Longhorns” no matter what obstacles we’ve had to face to get to here.  It’s scary to think that I only have less than a month left on this job.

Now everything after Orientation is still up in the air. I’m looking at AmeriCorp jobs hoping to get on in New York and start in August. It’d be amazing to continue working with some amazing people. If I don’t find something by August, I’m moving to Virginia with my dad and will see what that place has in store for me. Adulthood is staring me right in the face and I’m not sure if I’m ready for it but it’s here and I have to make the best of it. At least I know that in a year I’ll be getting ready for graduate school. Wow, saying that really means that my time at UT is up. I’m not going to be taking classes in the fall and that’s so odd. For a vast majority of my life, I’ve looked forward to starting classes each fall and seeing what each year has in store for me. I don’t have that comfort now. It’s times like this when people truly discover who they are and what they are made of.

Now for me to geek out. I’ve always been a huge cartoon, supernatural tv series, geeky fan and lately I’ve been really trying to explore that side of me and how it plays into my adult self. I still watch The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Movie every year around my birthday celebrating it’s release as well as my love for the show (watching it tomorrow). I also already have two geeky tattoos: The crest of hope from Digimon and the Batman logo. My next tattoo will be a wolf silhouette inside a full moon with the words “A Divine Move” surrounding it representing my love for the show “Teen Wolf” as well as my belief that all things happen for a reason. I’m hoping to get it when I get my next paycheck. Yeah I know some people will be like “Grow up, you’re 22 years old. Give up the geeky side of you.” Honestly, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to give up this side of me because it’s been a part of me for so long. And growing up doesn’t mean you have to give up the things you loved as a child. Yes, you have more responsibility and can’t think like a child anymore, but you don’t have to give up your creativity and your inner child. Growing up does not mean growing old.

Now in a little more than 24 hours, I will be turning 22. I can’t believe the things I have accomplished in all of this time and all the things I will accomplish in the future. Here’s to becoming an adult for real. No more dorm rooms, textbooks (for a year), student orgs or letting others make decisions for me. It’s time for me to make decisions for myself and become the man I want to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

