2015: My Year of Positivity

2014 was a year full of some amazing experiences. There were good and bad but all of them were amazing. With today being the first day of the new year, I am going to dedicate this entry to all the prospects of 2015.

In 2015, I will be celebrating a year as a Texas Ex. It’s shocking to think that in August it will have been 5 years since I started my undergraduate journey and a full year since I ended it. I loved my time at the University of Texas, but my time as a graduate has definitely been eye opening. I’ve had the opportunity to grow in some new ways.

2015 will also see me starting my grad school journey. A year ago, I said that 2014 would be the year but I know 2015 will be it for sure. The personal development I’ve experienced over the past year will be a definite help to me in my search, grad school journey and future career. In this search process I ultimately decided to apply to five programs instead of six. I firmly believe that one of these five schools is where I’m supposed to be. I’m confident in my resume, my essays and my letters of recommendation. Good things are coming my way because I know Student Affairs is where I’m supposed to be.

This year I want to read more books and write more songs. I feel back in love with reading in 2012. From that point I started buying books continuously and reading for the sheer pleasure of it. The two things I spend the most money on are books and food. A thankful thing for me is that I current work at a bookstore with access to a ton of books and new titles that I can be exposed to. In terms of writing songs, the last song I wrote was in 2013. “All Alone” was the song that I needed to help me get through my senior year of college. Now that I have new experiences and prospects I feel that some new material should be written.

My ultimate goal for 2015 is to be the best me possible. With all of the amazing things set to occur this year, I am going into this year with the mindset that good things are coming my way. 2014 was a rollercoaster. It was a storm. 2015 will be the sun coming out after the rain. So many good things are already set in stone. Some of my best friends and brothers are graduating with their degrees this year. Babies are going to be born in my family. Friends are getting married. I’m turning 23 in 6 months. 2015 is the year of positivity. All the negative things that tried to get me down in 2014 will not affect me in 2015.

“This is my season for grace, for favor. This is my season to reap what I have sewn”

– William Murphy

Leave a Reply

