Life in the Waiting Game

The wait is real. The month of February is almost over which means that grad school offers are around the corner. Since my last update, I’m happy to say that I was invited to interview at my last program bringing my total to 5 interview offers out of 5 programs applied. However, after thinking it over I decided to decline the offer because it wasn’t the right fit for me. I just knew that there were better fits for me and what I want to accomplish. Also felt that it would be better for someone else to take that spot than myself because they really wanted it.

During this time period between campus visits I have worked a lot, read, been anxious, chatted with copious amounts of my future colleagues and waited. On this past Friday, I had a Skype interview with a program. It went well but felt awkward on my end. The reason I didn’t attend the campus visit was because I couldn’t afford it. This process is expensive. Back to the interview, it felt awkward because I wasn’t in the same room as the interviewer. I realized that in that type of setting, I prefer to be in the same room to really gauge the feel. All in all, it’s a great program and if I’m lucky enough to get an offer I’ll really consider it.

In less than 48 hours, I’ll be heading to my next campus visit and interviewing with a program I’ve been looking forward to since I first started this year’s process. I’m interviewing with my top 2 assistantships there and I’m excited to learn more about their program. The faculty is amazing and the various tracks that the students can take are intriguing. We’ll see how this school and program feels. I’m hopeful that I’ll love it but who knows. I’ll blog about it when I return from the visit.

In this time since my first visit I’ve been extremely anxious to know my results. It’s weird because the program just finished its second set of interviews so who knows what will happen. So programs are already sending offers out and it’s thrilling and nerve-wracking at the same time. I had a friend commit to a program just today. So happy for her, but it also means that pretty soon every time my phone rings I will have a mini-heart attack thinking that it’s a program with an offer. I know it’s dramatic but when you’re excited and anxiously awaiting a call, it happens.

This time has also brought in some interesting conversations. Several people have told me that I am going to go far in this field. One person went as far to say that “the field is lucky to have me.” Another person said that when I responded to their message, they were shocked because they didn’t think I would. This is extremely flattering and humbling, but I’m just trying to make it through the process. I believe that every person’s story has power and I feel that if my story can help someone else then I will share it. I’m no superstar. I’m just a person who a love for helping others. A few of these people have also said that they can see me becoming a faculty member teaching & learning with the next generation of student affairs practitioners. That is a huge responsibility, but it’s nice that people think that I can do it. A year ago, I would have never expected these comments. Now, I didn’t expect them. I appreciate the love and support.

For now, I’ll continue to prep for interviews and hopefully I’ll be receiving offers in the coming weeks. I don’t know where I’ll end up but I’m excited to see what will happen. Hopefully the decision will be a difficult one, but worth it.

Until next time continue to Discover, Learn and Inspire.

Leave a Reply

