Counting Down

It’s almost time. In roughly 5 weeks, I’ll be getting in the car and driving 10 hours to start this adventure called grad school. 5 weeks is not a lot of time at all and there is still so much left to do. In that time I will celebrate 2 holidays, enjoy the season premiere of my favorite show (Teen Wolf), turn 23, pack, and end my time at Barnes & Noble.  While I am completely stoked to be going to such an amazing school, there will be a lot of adjusting to do. I’m moving to a small midwestern town when all I’ve ever known are cities in the south. I will be transitioning back into the role of a student as well as into the role of a new professional. I’m moving hours away from family. It will be the first time I’m truly on my own. It’s what I wanted but that doesn’t make it any less scary. How does one adult? I’m still figuring that out. I’ve never actually felt like an adult. I know I am one but I don’t typically think of myself as an adult. It’s weird I know.

I’ve also been thinking about where I want to be two years from now. Currently, I would love to explore somewhere I haven’t been like either the Pacific Northwest or the New England area. And while that sounds great now, I know that I will likely go wherever the job market takes me. I will not limit myself or my opportunities. Who knows what these next two years will hold? I could fall in love with Oxford and stay past the two years I’m already committed to. I could end up back in Austin working at UT.

This summer definitely has me thinking a lot. How fitting that my grad program is one that focuses on reflection. I decided against doing an internship this summer because I wanted to continue working a B&N as well as saving up money. As my time with the company draws closer and closer to an end, I can’t help but think about how much I will miss my coworkers. Many of them became my friends. I enjoy the time we spend together even if it is just at work. It was the job and experience I needed during my time in VA.

I had a google hangout with one of my cohort mates last week where we talked about our excitement and fears about our roles. Connecting with my staff is the biggest fear for me. It has always been a fear for me. When I was an RA and SRA, I worried about how I would connect with the staff and how we’ll work together. That doesn’t change just because I’m the supervisor now. I hope my staff will respond well to my geeky, sassy and idealistic self. It will be a transition for them as well especially the returners to the hall because they are getting a new supervisor. How I will approach this role will be figured out over time though I know I want my students to see me as a person rather than my title.

We also talked about getting into a better routine. I hope to change my undergrad body clock and start waking up and going to bed earlier. As much as I love mornings, I haven’t been a morning person since I was a kid waking up at 7am to enjoy Saturday morning cartoons. I want to get back to that. Waking up, working out, cooking breakfast and just enjoying what the morning has to offer before getting my day started. I planned my schedule with mostly afternoon classes so that I can enjoy my mornings for the most part and likely get work done between the hours of 9 and noon. While that is an ideal, we shall see what happens.

5 weeks. Not a lot of time at all but it will fly by fast enough. Until then I will take everything a day at a time and enjoy the time I have left before I fully immerse myself into my graduate experience. Also I hope to but a dent in my to read list. Currently on my to read list:

  • City of Ashes – Cassandra Clare (currently reading)
  • Shadow of Night – Deborah Harkness
  • The Book of Life – Deborah Harkness
  • The Scorch Trials – James Dashner
  • Seventh Son – Joseph Delaney
  • The Demon King – Cinda William Chima
  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  • City of Glass – Cassandra Clare

Happy reading and counting down, Ronnie

One thought on “Counting Down

  1. A lot of this resonates with me! I’m also counting down the days until I move off to graduate school and to become a new SA professional. I too think/worry about connecting with my staff, and I also don’t really feel like an adult just yet. At the same time, I think it’ll all fall into place the same way the grad school search did. We got this!

Leave a Reply

