Looking Back to Look Ahead

A couple of weeks ago, I finished my third semester of grad school. 3 semesters down, 1 to go. And while this next semester will be light on coursework, it will be busy with my assistantship, internship in the Office of Diversity Affairs, Job Search and Comps. I can handle everything coming my way, but I’m ready for things to be going already. I’ve been back in Texas for a week now. And while it’s had its ups and downs, it has sparked some reflections. 

I cannot come back to Texas right after grad school. I absolutely hate Houston. I’m not a fan of it at all. I love my family, but I also need my distance. Texas is not the place where I feel I can grow and develop fully as a young professional. I do not foresee myself settling down here so that is another factor contributing to it. Being on my own away from family has taught me a lot. However, I’m in a small town. What does that look like when I’m in a city? And what does that look like when school is not the reason for me being far away.

I think I’ll be ok if I had roommates. I love living alone. I love the freedom that comes with it: the alone time, the watching whatever I want to watch, the not wearing pants, the not having to discuss house rules. However, if I move to a new city where I know no one, I think I’d be fine having a roommate. Especially if they are cool. It would be a great way to meet people outside of Higher Ed & Student Affairs. This summer I loved my roommates. They were awesome and it wasn’t uncommon for us to go out for drinks every so often.

I want a life of positivity and adventure. Lately, I’ve been thinking about how much time I spend scared of trying certain things. Living in the city could mean new possibilities. Dating, joining community organizations, trying new things. And while a couple of my life changes will begin once I get back to Oxford, I believe that a new environment provides an opportunity for a fresh start.

The Job Search will happen and I will be fine. It is not a matter of if, but a matter of when & where. I personally have a goal of May 13th to have a job. I know that I could get a job right after graduation, but I’m telling myself May 13th because it will keep me motivated. I have already applied for two positions and will continue to do so until I have signed my paperwork. I also will not be sharing much information about my job search with people (read as INFLUENCERS) because I need this decision to be my own. There will be a couple of people who I will designate as my job search go-to peeps but they are the only ones who will know detailed information. I may or may not get a job from TPE but I will try my hardest to make it an awesome experience. I even have been thinking about my ideal list of places to live. Though they are ideal, I’m open to moving to other places as long as I can enjoy city life. I’ll be 25 and I will want to live like a 25-year-old.

My brain is going a mile a minute as a think about the next chapter in my life. Will I make friends? Will I meet someone I would want to spend the holidays with? Will I decide to get a dog named “Gotham”, “October”, or “Lyric”? Will I be near fraternity brothers? Will I travel and where? Will I continue performing? Will I take every chance I have to make my first year “adulting” the best it can be? So many questions and I don’t know any of the answers. I hope the answers are yes to all of them but who knows. I don’t and only time will tell.

My chapter of Miami SAHE will be coming to a close in just a few months and the next chapter of life will begin. 2017 will bring lots of change and I’m so ready for them.

 

Leave a Reply

